Utah Courts

 

Finding Legal Help

You are not required to hire an attorney, but legal matters can be complicated. Consider talking to an attorney to go over your options. See the Finding Legal Help page for information about free and low cost ways to get legal help. 

Como encontrar ayuda legal

Usted no está obligado a contratar un abogado, pero los asuntos legales pueden ser complicados. Considere la posibilidad de hablar con un abogado para hablar de sus opciones. Para información sobre cómo obtener ayuda legal vea nuestra página Como encontrar ayuda legal.

URCP Rule 58B (Rules of Civil Procedure)

 

Rule 58B. Satisfaction of judgment.
Rule printed on September 28, 2022 at 9:40 am. Go to https://www.utcourts.gov/rules for current rules.
Effective: 11/1/2019

(a) Satisfaction by acknowledgment.

(a)(1) Within 28 days after full satisfaction of the judgment, the judgment creditor or the judgment creditor’s attorney must file an acknowledgment of satisfaction in the court in which the judgment was entered. If the judgment creditor is not the original judgment creditor, the judgment creditor or judgment creditor’s attorney must also file proof of ownership. If the satisfaction is for part of the judgment or for fewer than all of the judgment debtors, it must state the amount paid or name the debtors who are released.

(a)(2) Pursuant to Rule 58 of the Utah Rules of Juvenile Procedure, the juvenile court will file an abstract of judgment in the district court upon entering an unpaid restitution order as a civil judgment. If the judgment falls under Rule 58 of the Utah Rules of Juvenile Procedure, the judgment creditor must file an acknowledgment of satisfaction in both the district court and the juvenile court within 28 days after full satisfaction of the judgment.

(b) Satisfaction by order of court. The court in which the judgment was first entered may, upon motion and satisfactory proof, enter an order declaring the judgment satisfied.

(c) Effect of satisfaction. Satisfaction of a judgment, whether by acknowledgement or order, discharges the judgment, and the judgment ceases to be a lien as to the debtors named and to the extent of the amount paid. A writ of execution or a writ of garnishment issued after partial satisfaction must include the partial satisfaction and must direct the officer to collect only the balance of the judgment, or to collect only from the judgment debtors remaining liable.

(d) Filing certificate of satisfaction in other counties. After satisfaction of a judgment, whether by acknowledgement or order, has been entered in the court in which the judgment was first entered, a certificate by the clerk showing the satisfaction may be filed with the clerk of the district court in any other county where the judgment has been entered.


The Utah State Courts mission is to provide the people an open, fair, efficient, and independent system for the advancement of justice under the law.

Page Last modified: 3/29/2022

Return to the top of the page Return to Top

Facebook YouTube Twitter RSS


Close ×